Why are nuclear power plants always situated along a river or on the coast?

The answer to this question is actually very simple: because they need cooling-water. Not only nuclear power plants need cooling-water for that matter. Also “classic” power plants (using gas, coal or fuel oil as heat source) need it and are therefore situated near rivers or canals.

Both power plant types produce electricity in the same way: high quality steam makes the turbines run and those turbines supply electricity to the network through the alternator . Once the quality of that steam has too much decreased, it cannot be of use for electricity production any more. It has to be cooled down till it turns back to water, that can be reused to produce high quality steam. This cooling takes place in the condenser and requires large quantities of cooling-water.

After having used the cooling-water in the (nuclear) power plant, it is returned to the river. It is obvious that this water does not contain any radioactive elements. As it has been used as cooling-water, it has of course been warmed up. The warmer the water, the lesser oxygen it contains, which is harmful for the fish and other fauna in the river. This is why the cooling-water generally is cooled down in the cooling towers , before its release into the river.

When more (nuclear) power plants are situated along a river - like in Doel and Tihange - and when the outside temperature is rather high during a long period (like during the long hot summer of 2003), it may happen that, in spite of the cooling towers, the temperature at the cooling-water outlet exceeds the limits of the environmental regulations. In such case, one or more power plants cannot operate at full capacity.

 

FAQ List

We use cookies on this website, which involves processing of your personal data. These cookies are used for statistical purposes and to provide you a more personalized browsing experience (e.g. by remembering your preferences on other websites). Do you agree with our use of cookies?
More information Ok

La réponse à cette question est très simple : parce qu’elles ont besoin d’eau de refroidissement. Il n’y a d’ailleurs pas que les centrales nucléaires qui ont besoin d’eau de refroidissement. Il en est de même pour les centrales « classiques » (au gaz, au charbon ou au fuel), qui se trouvent également à proximité d’une rivière ou d’un canal.

Les deux types de centrale fabriquent de l’électricité de la même façon : de la vapeur de haute qualité fait tourner les turbines qui entraînent un alternateur , qui fournit du courant au réseau. Lorsque la qualité de cette vapeur est trop faible, elle n’est plus utile. Elle est alors refroidie et redevient de l’eau qui peut être réutilisée pour fabriquer de la vapeur de haute qualité. Ce refroidissement, qui a lieu dans le condenseur , requiert de grandes quantités d’eau de refroidissement.

Après utilisation de cette eau dans la centrale (nucléaire) elle est renvoyée dans la rivière. Il va de soi que cette eau ne contient pas d’éléments radioactifs. Mais comme elle a servi comme eau de refroidissement, elle est évidemment devenue plus chaude. Plus elle est chaude, moins elle peut contenir d’oxygène, ce qui est nuisible pour les poissons et la faune dans la rivière. C’est pourquoi l’eau de refroidissement est en général refroidie dans les tours de refroidissement avant d’être rejetée dans la rivière.

Lorsque plusieurs centrales (nucléaires) se trouvent au bord d’une rivière - comme à Doel ou à Tihange - et si la température extérieure est élevée pendant une période assez longue (comme ce fut le cas pendant l’été 2003), il se peut que, même après passage dans les tours de refroidissement, la température de l’eau de refroidissement au canal de rejet dépasse les limites exigées par la réglementation environnementale. Dans ce cas, une ou plusieurs de ces centrales ne peuvent fonctionner à pleine puissance.

FAQ List

Nous utilisons des cookies et des plugins sociaux sur ce site Internet, ce qui implique le traitement de vos données à caractère personnel. Ces cookies sont utilisés à des fins statistiques et pour vous fournir une expérience de navigation plus personnalisée (par exemple, en mémorisant vos préférences sur d'autres sites Internet). Êtes-vous d'accord avec notre utilisation de cookies ?
En savoir plus Ok